Update: No more 4-year university degrees for Nigerian students in US

Update: No more 4-year university degrees for Nigerian students in US

Nigerians who intend to study in the United States will no longer be allowed to stay for up to four years based on the nation’s new proposed immigration policy.

or Follow us on WhatsApp Channel

According to the US Department of Homeland Security (DHS) on Thursday, September 24, as reported by Vox, international students from a list of countries, including Nigeria, will get only a two-year visa to study in the nation.

The affected nations will include Afghanistan, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (DRC) Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Kenya, and Kosovo.

The rest are Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Rwanda, Samoa, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu Uganda, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen and Zambia.

The DHS disclosed that this new rule is meant to “encourage program compliance, reduce fraud and enhance national security.”

This proposed policy is based on the theory that it will be less difficult to trace security threats and monitor adherence.

It was gathered that the above-listed nations are those that are termed state sponsors of terrorism and those who usually who spend more time in the US beyond what is allowed in their visas.

Recommended For You

Got a question/Suggestion? Let's talk!